Remember, remember the 5th of November

Remember, remember the 5th of November
The Gunpowder Treason and Plot
I know of no reason why Gunpowder Treason
Should ever be forgot

This is my tribute to the movie, V for Vendetta, and also of course, the man from whom this celebrated day originated. I haven’t really taken a stand on this whole Guy Fawkes episode but what I know is that the movie touched me deeply (and I never even read the comic series).

Watching people get tortured strikes a deep chord in me, especially if the victim (or perpetrator, depending on how you see it, since they are usually deemed to have done something to deserve it) is humanized. It makes me break down. And that is saying something because I am a fan of gore, albeit mindless gore.

I have a decided partiality to V, since we share the same initial, childish as it is. But more importantly, he is so articulate and emanates so much quiet strength and raw, concealed wounds from the sufferings he has endured, that it makes it impossible not to like him. I have a feeling I’m starting to sound delusional but really, I am certain there are others like him out there in the world; V is really a fictional portrayal of these legitimate living (or once living) beings.

Think about the POWs, the people taken by terrorists, and even the terrorists themselves. When you begin to attach a face to these people, it puts all the things you’ve heard, about their suffering and torture, back into perspective. I recently watched ‘Rendition’ and sobbed while I sat through the torture of the lead actor because I was alternating between imagining he was my husband and pretending I was him.

I honestly question how it is fair that people can be tortured without their identities and accused misdeeds even being properly verified in the first place. ‘Extraordinary Rendition’, these guys even have a euphemism for it. I wonder if, in between all their detached proceedings and handling of such ‘renditions’, they have ever fantasized about what would happen if the suspect was someone they loved or, in fact, themselves. Would they be so cold and callous then? But that is another issue for another day.

3 responses to “Remember, remember the 5th of November

  1. this week is also the 90th aniversary of the october revolution in russian. that week probably changed the world more than what guy fawkes did.

    penny for the guy? =)

  2. V FOR VAMPIRE LA. ONLY KNOW HOW TO BITE PEOPLE. RAWR!!!!

    so have u decided to go kanchanaburi?

  3. Pingback: V for Valerie « V

Leave a Reply

