cheesy love songs.

I have a confession. I actually really like <beautiful girl> by Jose Mari Chan. And I especially like the line: till all of your loveliness, in my arms come true.

BUT I also love Evanescence and Lifehouse and Muse and Jason Mraz and Nickelback and…

That’s just a guilty pleasure.

And I know I’ve definitely grown out of childish notions of love because while cheesy love songs make my heart melt, the song that really moves me is:

i’m not the easiest person to love
i’m often the one who lets things go unresolved
yet you choose to be on the side of me, on the side of me

i’m not too proud of some things i’ve done in my life
the skeletons in my closet are too big for me to hide
yet you choose to be on the side of me, on the side of me
blessed charity you’re on the side of me, on the side of me

cos everyone needs a friend to hold
when it’s cold outside and there’s no place to go
yeah everyone needs a friend to hold
all alone i cried there was no place to go
i remember when nobody cared
but you

i’m not the easiest person to love
but you, you’ve opened your heart to show me what i’m worth
cos you choose to be on the side of me, on the side of me
what a mystery, you’re on the side of me, on the side of me

<on the side of me> by Corrinne May. Sometimes, all you need to be strong is that.

Leave a Reply

