did you know

<Everything> and <Hanging by a Moment> by Lifehouse are about God? Is it possible for me to love Jason Wade more?!

Look at the lyrics. No wonder their songs always seemed to hint at something deeper than romantic love. 

Find me here, speak to me
I want to feel you, I need to hear you
You are the light, that’s leading me
To the place where I find peace, again

You calm the storms, and you give me rest
You hold me in your arms, you won’t let me fall
You steal my heart, and you take my breath away
Would you take me in? Take me deeper now

My favourite lines (even before I knew): “And how can I stand here with you, and not be moved by you?

<Hanging by a Moment> is even better. It’s about spiritual searching in his pursuit to be closer to God.

Desperate for changing, starving for truth
I’m closer to where I started, chasing after you
I’m falling even more in love with you
Letting go of all I’ve held on to
I’m standing here until you make me move
I’m hanging by a moment here with you
Forgetting all I’m lacking, completely incomplete
I’ll take your invitation, you take all of me

Mostly, he tries to leave his songs open for interpretation, so it doesn’t seem very obvious if you’re not looking out for it. He has a lot of struggles too. And maybe he’s still on the path of reconciliation with the church.

<Broken>:
I’m falling apart, barely breathing
With a broken heart, that’s still beating
In the pain, there is healing
In your name, I find meaning
So I’m holding on, holding on to you

The broken lights on the freeway, left me here alone
I may have lost my way now, haven’t forgotten my way home

It’s okay to lose our way, if we still know our way home (:

2 responses to “did you know

  1. wah, i never hear lifehouse b4 …and just heard these 2 songs…

    nice music…. very nice (:

  2. hows that possible?! we did some acoustics of them in band. i rmb listen to theyre my all time fav, never get sick of them

Leave a Reply

