my little box of beliefs.

When you say you can’t reconcile Christianity with Libertarianism, it’s really because we have myopically understood Christianity in its fleshly, flawed doctrinal way. I still don’t agree with church per se, the church as most of us know it, and as most atheists judge Christianity upon. I don’t agree with churches who judge by worldly standards, driven by religiosity and run by institutional systems. Even more so, I disagree with churches who are insincere and extravagant in the things that do not serve God’s purposes.

Ever since I’ve come to stake my belief in Jesus, I’ve struggled with this belief and my personal philosophies. I was (maybe still am) the girl who came before God with a big box filled with the products of my experience, hitherto, my worldview and everything I’ve thought through–my intellectual understanding of this world. And this box, I’ve held on so tightly to, even as He quietly took each step to meet me where I stand. In fact, the closer He came, the tighter my grip got. Until there was no way He could come any closer.

I didn’t know I still had this box. I thought…I had let it go when I made that decision to respond. But I hadn’t.

But as I’ve been told, so good is our God that even as He requests for my grip to loosen so that I could finally put the box down, He did not let my box fall to the ground. All He wanted was my willing surrender, not for my will to be beaten. I understand today, that with each time I slowly loosen my grip, I will see that His own hands are there, steadying my box of beliefs.

I believe in Libertarianism. For some time, it has been an either/or choice for me. But just now, kneeling before God, it became clear to me that believing in Jesus may not necessarily mean I cannot be a Libertarian.

If we can all agree that the ultimate goal of our Christian walk is to become like Jesus, Libertarianism is really not so contradictory to Christianity. God Himself emphasized freedom more than any of us can, in fact, handle. Atheists scoff at our naivete. How can we possibly be free in the endless requirements of God? Only think of the ten commandments. It is true that God has high standards. So high that it is unthinkable we can ever reach them. But God’s grace is bigger than that. He doesn’t demand that we become good, by His standard of good, overnight. In fact, He doesn’t even expect us to accomplish that by our own efforts. When we speak of God’s forgiveness, what we really talk about is the enlightened way He regards us. God looks straight into our hearts, He judges solely by the purity of our hearts, and based on that, dismisses our fleshly wrongs. Who in the world will judge us this way?

When the adulteress woman was brought before Jesus, even as the people were accusing her and egging him on to judge her, Jesus only said, “Let he that is without sin cast the first stone.” (John 8:7)

In a world that is quick to judge, quick to criticize and slow to forgive, Jesus stood by the Godly path and firmly resisted doing what the world deems as the correct method.

In this same non-judging way, Jesus forgives the times we deny Him and ignore His advice. Even when we, by our imperfections, make bad decisions that cause ourselves grief, God never forces His will on us. Even more amazingly, He is slow to rebuke us.

Jesus, in His time, rebelled against the institution of the pharisees. He loved all Man–women, the poor and the servants. He challenged authority and stood up for what was right. He respected humanity, never despised, never judged, never harmed others and never held grudges. Truly, He was a revolutionary is His time. Isn’t that the perfect description of a Libertarian?

Jesus, if He were here today, would probably have been welcomed at underground parties and book clubs alike, but maybe not so popular among people who sneer at others behind their religious posturing. He would have stood up against the self-righteous and defended the weak. Jesus would have enjoyed debates with atheists (“Come! Let us reason.”) and rebuked those who falsely prophesy in the name of God (like how He overturned tables and shouted at the peddlers in the House of His Father). Jesus would be kind, gentle and accommodating, but He would be no pushover. (He who kneels before God can stand before man.)

If you’ve heard otherwise, maybe…you don’t know the same Jesus as I do.

One response to “my little box of beliefs.

  1. I like the sound of your Jesus. In fact, He sounds exactly like mine. Revolutionary. +)

Leave a Reply

