on writing:

I’m reading an article on “How to be a writer” and it starts with this quote:

“First, try to be something, anything, else.” – Lorrie Moore

So, how do you become a writer? First, try to be something, anything, else.

This is very, very sound advice. Again, something I’ve always known but never put so eloquently. That is why I’ve categorically avoided choosing a profession in writing. Other than the fear that being paid to write will make me hate the one thing I actually love to do, I don’t think I’m smart enough. Because to be a writer, you need to be fantastic at 2 things: writing, and the thing you write about.

When you’re a writer, you’re never only a writer. It’s too much pressure.

Leave a Reply

